Forensicare Board

Forensicare is governed by a Board of nine directors, who are appointed by the Governor in Council for a three-year term, based on the recommendation of the Minister for Mental Health. The Board provides quarterly reports to the Minister for Mental Health, and the Minister for Corrections, on the operation and performance of the organisation. Our Board includes nominees from the Attorney-General and the minister administering the Corrections Act 1986, as well four to seven other members–at least one of which who is able to reflect the perspectives of people receiving mental health services, and one who has knowledge of or experience in accounting and finance management.

Board Directors

Ken Lay AO APM
BA (Pol Stud), GDip Pub Admin, HonLLD (Monash), FAICD

Beginning his role as Board Chair on 10 April 2019, Ken brings Forensicare a wealth of knowledge and experience from his highly-respected career as the former Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police. In 2017, Ken was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia for his distinguished service to law enforcement and community leadership. He is now the Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria, Chair of the Ambulance Victoria Board, and former Advisory Board Chair of Answering the Call, part of Beyond Blue’s Police and Emergency Services Program. He has also previously chaired the Advisory Panel on the national response to Reducing Violence Against Women and Children, and the Prime Minister’s National Ice Taskforce.

Greg Pullen

Greg was appointed to the Board on 10 April 2013. Throughout this time, he has held the position of chair of the Forensicare Finance Committee. He is an experienced business leader with extensive financial credentials in accounting, management and company directorship. Prior to retiring from full-time work, Greg spent 38 years working in senior management roles in the Victorian public healthcare and not-for-profit sectors. He is also a current board director of Hepburn Health.

Jenny Roberts
BA (Soc Sci)

Jenny was appointed as the nominee of the Minister for Corrections on 1 December 2016. Jenny has had an incredibly impressive career, with more than 30 years experience in corrections–including senior operational, policy and project management roles in prisons, community corrections services, and women, drug, and education areas.

Julie Anderson
Cert Bus (Acc), Cert Theo, Completion AICD course

Julie was appointed to the board on 1 December 2013 to represent the perspective of mental health consumers. She has a wealth of knowledge from her array of experiences, including her current role as senior consumer advisor in the Office of the Chief Mental Health Nurse in the Department of Health and Human Services. She is a member of Mental Health Australia’s National Registrar of Consumer and Carer Leaders and consults with federal and state governments on mental health
issues from a perspective of lived experience.

In the past, Julie has been a director, president and vice president of Neami National, as well as a past chair of the Victorian Mental Illness Awareness Council. She has participated in the Leadership Plus Program and
the National Mental Health Commission Future Leaders Program – all based on her lived experience of recovery.

Ruth Vine


Associate Professor Ruth Vine was appointed to the Board on 12 May 2015. She is currently the Executive Director of NorthWestern Mental Health, but has previously worked in the Department of Health as the Director of Mental Health, and has also been the Chief Psychiatrist for Victoria. Ruth spent many years
working as a consultant psychiatrist working in forensic mental health, as well as community health. She has also worked with the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing to develop the fourth National Mental
Health Plan. Due to her expertise–and medical and law degrees–she has also contributed to the development of legislation and policy in areas such as mental health, disability and the management of mentally ill offenders.

Sally Campbell

Sally was appointed to the board on 21 March 2018. She is a business leader with extensive executive private and public sector experience, gained in commercial and government industries all around the globe, including Australia, New Zealand and the United
Kingdom. In addition, Sally has extensive experience in law, governance and strategy, informatics, technology, telecommunications, manufacturing and services, spanning the health and research sectors – most recently at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and Barwon Health. With a proven track record in designing and delivering major business strategies and systems, Sally has driven significant cultural changes, improvements and exemplary operational results for large, complex and politically sensitive organisations. Sally currently sits on the board of Alfred Health, and is the chair of the Alfred Health Audit Committee.

Sue Williams

Sue Williams Forensicare Board Member

Beginning her role as board director on 10 April 2019, Sue brings more than 25 years of experience in the healthcare industry to Forensicare. Currently, she is the Chief Executive Officer at Cabrini Hospital, and on the board of Better Care Victoria. She has a Bachelor of Business Management, and Master of Business Administration from Monash University, as well as completing an Advanced Management Program at Harvard University. Her previous roles include the Director of Nursing at Royal Melbourne Hospital, Chief Operating Officer of 44 hospitals at Healthscope, and Chief Executive Officer of Peninsula Health, where she managed over 5000 staff across 12 sites.

Board Committees

The Board is supported by six committees to assist it in fulfilling its responsibilities. Each committee is required to report to the Board.

The Audit, Security and Risk Management Committee’s role is to assist the Board to fulfil its corporate governance and oversight responsibilities in relation to Forensicare’s financial reporting, internal control structure, legal and regulatory compliance, risk management systems, and the internal and external audit functions.

The Clinical Governance and Quality Committee plays a key role in ensuring effective clinical governance by providing leadership and advice to the board in the assessment and evaluation of the safety and quality of Forensicare’s clinical services.

The purpose of the committee is to assist the board to fulfil its responsibilities in relation to the review of performance and remuneration of the Chief Executive Officer, and his or her direct reports–the Executive team.

The Finance Committee’s role is to assist the board to fulfil its financial governance responsibilities.

The purpose of this committee is to determine research priorities and activities, monitor and develop guidelines, progress and adherence to ethical standards of research, and encourage research across the organisation.

The Strategic Planning and Oversight Committee works to identify, review and prioritise key strategic challenges and risks, and develop recommendations for the Board on strategic plans, and the governance framework of Forensicare.